Review of Riddick

So, one of my favorite movies ever was Chronicles of Riddick. I thought the whole movie was tastefully done and it had lots of twists and action in it that kept me guessing until the very end. When I heard that a new Riddick movie was coming out I was intrigued. Where did this one fit into the story line? Is it before Pitch Black? Is it after the Chronicles of Riddick? I had to check it out. And I did. Here is what I thought.

The beginning of the movie we get Riddick chronicling his life and what happened to him after he took over the throne. He is in pain and on a planet we have never seen before and the first fifteen minutes are just him showing his survival skills. The beginning could have the pace picked up a little bit. We see him get his dog pet and eventually we see him with his dog grown which raises the question, how much time has passed? How fast does the dog grow? Once the dog is grown he sends a beacon which attracts bounty hunters and finally the action begins.

Now, it’s been a while since I’ve seen the other movies but the connection this one plays is with Pitch Black and a guy named Johns who is never really focal to the story telling but we get his dad who hunts down Riddick in this one to find out what happened to his son. The connection is tenuous at best. The creatures that Riddick and the Mercs face in this movie are pretty unique and entertaining, however, I feel as though its really contrived that they, essentially, are underneath of the whole planet and when it rains a shit-ton come out. Wouldn’t they feel getting walked on? How would they survive if they are just in some sort of stasis until it rains?

The ending is good though, and there is definitely going to be another movie coming out as Riddick tries to find his home (which I thought was destroyed in the first movie, or they showed a clip of it being destroyed I am pretty positive).

Overall, it was a good movie. Worth the investment and when dealing with action-type movies I tend to negate looking at plot and structure and overall plotholes just because if I did that then most movies would get torn to shreds. I give it a 6.5 out of 10 just because I liked the action, but I was expecting more in a sequel to Chronicles, I was hoping for more real action instead of a “filler” movie as I would call it. I am looking forward to the next one though.

Image

Leave a Reply

