Building Readership

Although this post will not be anything novel and original, I do want to reiterate this because it is something that I am doing currently through my pre-marketing strategies (which if you’ve read my other posts should be around 3 – 4 months prior to your books release). The strategy? Well, its releasing your novel piece by piece and week by week hopefully. Now, like I said before, many authors already currently do this, and that is good because it really does build a large readership and sorry to say folks, it’s usually not the first book that makes you money, it’s the second and the third and so on. The first book is just to establish yourself as a recognized author and to slice out a pie in that saturated author market. It’s about building up your fan base. With that being said, though, here are a four options that you can do while trying to build readership (although I’m sure there are probably lots more available).

Option #1: GoodReads

  • Here on GoodReads you can make an author profile for yourself once you have a few basic things taken care of with your book (like an isbn being the most important) because they offer their author program to those who are published, yes, but also who are in the process of publishing, so start building that readership today. I have just started this, and am posting chapters weekly for people to read.

Option #2: Wattpad

  • I don’t believe this one is as well known, at least I never heard of it until very recently, but it has worked wonders for authors.
  • Wattpad is an online writing community site and app where people can visit and either read free stories or post them. It’s sort of like a YouTube for writers. Anyone can join (it’s free!) and writers can post poetry, short stories, full-length novels, screenplays—pretty much anything writing-related—and other users can read them, comment, share, vote, etc. It’s the number one app of its kind in the world and has about 10 million+ unique visitors a month.
  • The same tactic I mentioned above about utilizing a weekly post will go good with this, too. I highly recommend it. The more visibility the better.

Option #3: Blog

  • Have you considered that blog of yours as a potential option for sharing tidbits of your story? If not, you should. I have been going back and forth about this decision myself just because I have been so busy but I think I’ll probably end up going with it in the near future. And even if you don’t post chapters of your novel, perhaps just doing a weekly blogpost like “motivational mondays” where you say your favorite quote or something. That’s always a good way to build readership and eventually you’ll get people looking forward to what is the next thing you’ll post.

Option #4: Twitter

  • Twitter, some have said, is online poetry. It restricts the user to only using a certain amount of characters and that’s it. Well, although you can’t post a whole chapter on Twitter, why don’t we utilize a new approach? Have you ever written something in your story and you’re like “Damn, that is good writing.” I have. Or, at least I like to think I have. And I wish every single sentence could be like it. It are these gems, though, that you could put as part of a weekly Tweet that either is separate from the novel chapters you are posting, or coincides along with them. For example, I am doing mine on Sunday as part of my “Quotetastic Sundays” (I know, not the most catchy or original thing), but one of my characters in my fantasy story gave really solid, intriguing, and thoughtful advice. He said, “Warriors still standing do not stand still.” I personally really like that line so I decide to Tweet it out as #newauthor #GoC (guardian of core, series of my book) #fantasy. Any hashtags that will get me found pretty much. Anyways, I plan on utilizing a lot more of these awesome lines and advice in the near future.

–> The problem I think many of us will have with this is where do I stop it? Should I give the ending away? Really, I think it is your own call there. I would say go for it, because here’s the thing, if it’s good writing, and people like your story, they will buy it regardless of it is online for them to read. Why? 2 reasons (although there are probably more): (1) You didn’t make it easily accessible, you spread it out over weeks and months. (2) Reading online blows!!! It tires the eyes much faster than e-books on kindles or nooks, or the printed versions.

Although I’ve been posting lots of stuff about good marketing strategies and how to get your book known, there is one that I haven’t yet and that’s because it should be a fundamental idea that all authors live with. Good, quality writing will attract fans. There is hardly any time where bad writing will garner a lot of sales because so many of us live on reviews of books nowadays. If you want to be a successful author, first and foremost, put out a good book.

Leave a Reply

