Planning the Timeline

Alright,

Been busy the past couple of days, and this week is actually extremely busy for me as I meet my own deadlines, but while I mention deadlines, I figure what an appropriate place to talk about scheduling.

Something I would invest in right off the bat is a planner. Whether you have an hour-by-hour one in addition to a day-by-day one, or merely a day-by-day one, is up to you. I know the hour-by-hour one really helps me plan out my days. Why do I recommend a planner? Because you will be busy from NOW (yes, this very second after you finish ready this blog) to months after your book is even published.

We are going to use my books timeline as an example of what you should be looking at when planning your own for your book.

1) When do you want your book to get released?

  •       Originally, I was planning on having an early November release so that I could advertise Black Friday and Cyber Monday sales as well as Christmas. But, then I figured, this would HORRIBLE. There is no way I can compete with all the fierce competition that is out there. So I moved mine back to December 10th (Tuesday).
  • Reason for picking a Tuesday? It has actually been proven that Tuesday’s yield the best results for launching something (why else do you think movies come out for rent at video stores on Tuesdays). Monday everyone is groggy and by Tuesday they are back in the swing of things. Also, December is a good month because it’ll be after all the crazy sales, but you can advertise your book (if yours is targeted towards college-aged adults like mine is) as a book to read over winter break.
  • With that in mind other dates I would consider are January, February, and May (spring break for the earlier two, and summer vacation for the last one).

Once you have your date of publication, you will want to set AT LEAST 2 months of marketing up beforehand, if not 4 MONTHS. During these months you will be sending out galley copies, soliciting subsidiary rights, talking to book clubs, following up on any marketing research you were doing, doing author book blog tours, etc. A huge marketing opportunity for me is the chance to blurb my book in a magazine that goes out to over 80,000 people NATIONWIDE. Crazy marketing option that I can’t pass up but In order to meet deadlines I need a physical galley copy a month before it goes out so by end of September, early October.

2) Goal to meet is November.

  • So, working backwards, you need to allow 3 – 4 weeks for printing services through Lightning Source (POD publisher) so you have physical copies to send out. That puts us back at end of August/early September.
  • Note: If you are going offset printing, it’s typically around 6 – 8 weeks. So, plan accordingly.

3) Proofreading and Copy Editing

  • Copy editing can take about 4 – 5 weeks depending on who you go through. (These are just things I have seen personally, not saying yours will). You will want to allow for one week to a week and a half for proofreading your book (because, yes, even editors can fail sometimes even though you are paying them). With this being said it put us back to middle July.

4) Final Revisions

  • Maybe you are already here. Your manuscript is as polished as it can be at this point. Well congrats! Start with #3 and move on upwards. For me the developmental edit phase (4 – 6 weeks) and my final touch-ups (another 4 – 6 weeks) puts me all the way back to end of March! Holy shit. And that was after I thought my book didn’t need to be changed that much (boy was I wrong). I would always recommend a developmental editor, because they will catch things totally oblivious by you.
  • Use this time that it is with the editor to read up about self-publishing (or continue reading this blog 😉 ). Otherwise, use the time to develop marketing ideas (see most recent blog post), some books to invest in are “Complete Guide to Self Publishing” by Sue Collier and Marilyn Ross and even the “Self-Publishing for Dummies” (even though this latter title is way out of date).

What is this trying to tell you? That if you want to have a successful book launch, a successful book in general, you need to actually commit yourself to this project ALMOST A WHOLE YEAR before the book actually comes. It’s like pregnancy for authors.

So, my advice to all of you planning on self-publishing out there, first thing you will want to do is determine a significant release date and from there work backwards to determine your schedule. It will make your life so much more organized and efficient.

Oh, and I was going to end it there, but I have to make this disclaimer before I leave. THIS IS NOT ALL THAT YOU WILL BE DOING. Imagine that this is the skeleton for your book’s body. Now we need to fill it in with skin tissue, organs, nerves, etc. All that comes in the form of websites, social media marketing, blogging, researching, querying, and more. Oh yay! We can get more in-depth with all of that later, though. Plan this basic template, first, and then we’ll focus on filling in the gaps.

Leave a Reply

